Grant me the hilarity to mock the things I cannot change

I do not like the current slew of she-who-dies-as-the-biggest-bitch-wins books being offered to our teen daughters as of late. I do not like them, Sam I Am. Don’t know what I’m talking about? I give you the Clique Series, the Clique Summer Collection Series, the Gossip Girl Series, the It Girl Series, and the Private Series.

This was taken off the back cover of one of the Gossip Girl books: “If we aren’t careful, S is going to win over our teachers, wear that dress we couldn’t fit into, eat the last olive, spill campari on our rugs, steal our brothers’ and boyfriends’ hearts, and basically ruin our lives and make us mad in a major way.” Let me just repeat part of that so we all understand the driving force behind this plot. “If we aren’t careful, S is going to… …wear that dress we couldn’t fit into.” That’s right. The girls in this book are so shallow that the angel of death swooping through their sad little world will not be wielding a flaming sword, but a size 2 Giorgio Armani. Give me the good old days when the worst a parent had to worry about was books about pre-marital teen sex.

I’m not naive. But I am petty. I can’t change any of this. I can mock the hell out of it.

dbag.jpg

3 responses to “Grant me the hilarity to mock the things I cannot change

  1. Yeah, these books scare me. Especially considering how important I feel reading is. Gigi is big into “fad” reading (right now, its the Warriors series). If someone at school is reading something, she has to read it, too. It’s only a matter of time before she wants to read this dreck.

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more! It’s one thing to think these thoughts as teen girls, but another to gauge their value based on them. Our current culture seeks the niche and then perpetuates its darkest aspects!

    Ha, I’m so damn humorous I kill me…

    Keep mocking where I’m unable, K? It feels good to laugh with you.

  3. Man, when they say your kids grow fast – whew! – your kids REALLY grew up fast.

    Ohh…wait…you probably didn’t mean ‘your’ teen daughters, but the collective ‘our’ teen daughters. Man, I blinked and thought I missed something!

    Thanks for bringing this up – and here I thought all I had to worry about was Junie B. Jones bad grammar and flip attitude, now I see I’m officially screwed.

Leave a Reply

