tragedy

I just burned a pot of boiling sap. Left it too long without checking in on it. Five minutes earlier and I could have caught it. Instead I found a 4 gallon pot of carbon. Fuck. I blame the Darjeeling Limited.

So now I smell like flaming sugar and I can never boil sap in that pot again (no Kev, it was mine, not yours). I’m just glad that earlier in the evening I poured the fruits of the week’s boiling into a holding bucket. I hope the other pot didn’t catch any off flavors.

Not happy right now.

2 responses to “tragedy

  1. OH NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! I’m not happy either. Your maple syrup is the most scrumptious stuff I’ve eaten today…other than a rotisserie chicken, which was also yours, YUM! Well, chin up. You can use our other propane tank if there’s anything left to burn, DOH, I mean boil.

  2. I don’t care about the bucket as long as you don’t burn my syrup.

    See you guys on Sunday. Let me know how much I owe for the girl scout cookies.

Leave a Reply

