A Part of History

I spent Friday night at my friend Matt’s lab. In the next few weeks I’m going to start helping him with his research and the two of us spent 2 or so hours bringing me up to speed on the details, so that I don’t unwittingly flush a year’s worth of work down the crapper. So as not to inflate my importance in the process, I’ll admit up front that I’m just doing data entry… for a GROUND BREAKING STUDY!!! Dun Dun Duuuuuuun.

I really wish I could talk about it, but, um, since this is an ongoing investigation, I’m afraid I can’t comment on it. (I have wanted to use that phrase for soooo long. You have no idea.) So, while I can’t give you specifics, I can make vague overtures that this research will fight terrorism, combat global warming, whiten your smile, balance the budget and offer national health coverage.

3 responses to “A Part of History

  1. [i]…. “I can make vague overtures that this research will fight terrorism, combat global warming, whiten your smile, balance the budget and offer national health coverage.”[/i]

    Jesus on a Pogo Stick! Why not just blab to the whole world while you’re at it? I suppose you’d like to be coauthor the journal publication too, eh?

    … of course, this is all hypothetical. But as they all say, when in doubt, change the data.

  2. Wow. OK, so sometimes when you come back a day later and reread what you posted the day before, what you thought was supposed to sound funny actually comes across sounding *VERY* different than you intended.

    If one skips the snip of Pat’s quote and just reads my follow up, I come across sounding genuinely pissed off that he posted about my dissertation work. Yikes. In reality, I was trying to post a funny follow up making it sound like I was miffed he spilled the beans regarding my work into fighting terrorism, whitening smiles, fiscal responsibility, etc.

    Goes to show what a few well placed “smileys” [see colon close parenthesis] can change how something “sounds” in this visually context free text zone we call the internet. Anyway, I’m not angry Pat posted about my research. I was only kidding. :) :) :) :) :) :) No. :) :) :) :) :) :) Really. :) :) :) :) :) :) I was. :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

    Besides, when we hooked the politicians up to the lab equipment to study all those things Pat mentioned, the only repeatable thing we got out of them was the white smile. Oh, and perfect executive hair. The rest of the variables fell straight down party lines regardless of the treatment given the subjects. Sorry to disappoint. Oh, and another point – politicians have freakishly unnatural white smiles. I swear I thought heard a servo motor humming softly in Mitt Romney’s neck when he turned his head to face me. Gives me the willies just thinking about it.

    Matt

    :)

Leave a Reply

