How you can tell that I’m sick

First of all, I have turned the heat up in the house. In the entire house.

I am wearing a winter hat in the house. The entire house. Also, I have on a t-shirt and knit sweater, thermal underwear, jeans, and alpaca socks. Made from the the hair, not the animal. Though right now I wouldn’t be picky

I am currently sweating onto the keyboard. I don’t know if this is more a function of the hat or the sweater. The sweater does seem to have better credentials.

I expect that within another half an hour I will start to shake uncontrollably again and have to climb back in bed under the electric blanket and 4 doubled over quilts.

Despite my illness, I’m not tired. I can only lie in bed braising for so long before my head wants me to do something. So here I am.

I have no idea what’s doing battle with my body right now. The only clue I have is a note sent home by the school nurse saying “a student in our school has fifth disease”. What? What the hell is the fifth disease? If it has anything to do with Milla Jovovich, I guess I can put up with it. No? Frell.

“The first stage of the illness consists of headache (check), body-ache (hella-check), sore throat (eh), low grade fever (check) and chills (check yeah!). These symptoms last 2 to 3 days and are followed by a second stage, lasting about a week, during which the person has no symptoms at all”. Hmmmm. If I didn’t know better I’d say that second stage was the person not being sick anymore. But no. It goes on to say that children may develop a rash on the face, legs and arms after this stage… blah blah blah.

It’s contagious. What isn’t? Unless you have (as those commercials for designer drugs like to say) “a rare blood condition”, you get sick, then you get better, just like most anything else. At least this time around I can keep food and water down.

So, anyway, don’t make-out with me for another couple of weeks unless you want this.

Leave a Reply

