Thing #2

I hate cold calling.

I hate having to deal with people over the phone in general, especially people I don’t particularly know. People I have accounts with, people I have to report to, people I have to do business with… it’s all the same. If the only way to contact them is by phone, they’re probably never going to hear from me unless I have absolutely no other option. I would do all my communication (other than face to face) by email if I could, and for those people who I have to communicate with that have email, that’s how I do it. The others… I usually wait for them to call me.

Strangely, this doesn’t pertain to phoning in a take-out food order. If I could explain it I would. I’ve never been the one to call either of our babysitters. I don’t make the call to the school if the kids are going to be home sick. I don’t even call either mine or CB’s mother to set up overnights for the girls. That’s all her. In fact, as far back as my Senior year of high school, when I somehow managed to get myself onto the Advertisement Committee of the yearbook (????), I pretty much dumped the whole job of calling dozens of local businesses to solicit for ad money on my best friend Chris. He was the other half of the committee.

Leave a Reply

