What’s my excuse?

I’ll tell you. It’s this damned book:

It’s 1006 pages of Oh-my-freaking-god-when-is-anything-actually-going-to-HAPPEN? The answer: somewhere around page 900. That’s right, 900 pages of foreplay.

This review of the book was taken from BN.com

This is one of the best books I’ve read for a long time. The first fifty pages or so were a little boring, but then it kicks off. After reading it, I had trouble reading anything else.

That’s like saying that the commercials you have to watch before the movie were a little boring, but once the previews for upcoming attractions start, the movie kicks off. I would be bored to find out what else excites this person. I just don’t get it. I can’t decide if the whole book is supposed to be making fun of itself, or something else. Maybe it’s just the author’s writing style, but I doubt it. I’ve read Peter F Hamilton’s Night’s Dawn trilogy (6 books) and he took almost the entire first book to set his characters and situations for the next five. That was a great series. This is having much trouble with me just being a good book.

I am committed, however, to finishing it. As I mentioned, it’s finally getting good. Which is to say that something other than nothing is finally happening. Oh please let me get through the last 100 pages by the end of the week!

Also, I’m still eating my kid’s easter candy. I think something’s wrong ’cause it’s not disappearing as fast as I’m sure I’m eating it.

Leave a Reply

